Faculty and Staff

Mines offers graduate education and research opportunities (M.S.-non-thesis, M.S.-thesis, and PhD degrees) in both Metallurgical and Materials Engineering, and Materials Science specializations. The Materials@Mines programs promote collaboration with faculty from across campus, allowing the diverse backgrounds and expertise of our professors to enrich our students’ educational experience.  Explore the profiles below to learn more about our faculty’s research.

PROGRAM LEADERSHIP

Eric Toberer

Eric Toberer

Rank - Professor and Director of Materials Science

Department - Physics

Office - 305 CoorsTek Center

Phone - 303-273-3171

Email - etoberer@mines.edu

Brian Trewyn

Brian Trewyn

Rank - Associate Professor and Assistant Director of Materials Science

Department - Chemistry

Office - Coolbaugh Hall 152

Phone - 303-384-2224

Email - btrewyn@mines.edu

Research-Advising Faculty

Sumit Agarwal

Sumit Agarwal

Rank - Professor

Office - Alderson Hall 443

Phone - 303-273-3508

Email - sagarwal@mines.edu

Mohsen Asle Zaeem

Mohsen Asle Zaeem

Rank - Associate Professor

Department - Mechanical Engineering

Office - 203 CoorsTek Center

Phone - 303-384-2260

Email - zaeem@mines.edu

Geoff Brennecka

Geoff Brennecka

Rank - Associate Professor

Department - Metallurgical and Materials Engineering

Office - 380 Hill Hall

Phone - 303-384-2238

Email - gbrennec@mines.edu

Craig Brice

Craig Brice

Rank - Professor of Practice

Department - Mechanical Engineering

Office - 219 CoorsTek Center

Phone - 303-384-2114

Email - craigabrice@mines.edu

Matthew Crane

Matthew Crane

Rank - Assistant Professor

Department - Chemical and Biological Engineering

Office - 243 Alderson Hall

Phone - 303-273-xxxx

Email - matthewcrane@mines.edu

Robert Cryderman

Robert Cryderman

Rank - Research Associate Professor

Department - Metallurgical and Materials Engineering

Office - 276 Hill Hall

Phone - 303-283-3178

Email - rcryderm@mines.edu

Steven DeCaluwe

Steven DeCaluwe

Rank - Associate Professor

Department - Mechanical Engineering

Office - W410B Brown Hall

Phone - 303-273-3666

Email - decaluwe@mines.edu

Dylan Domaille

Dylan Domaille

Rank - Assistant Professor

Department - Chemistry

Office - Coolbaugh Hall 162

Phone - 303-273-3116

Email - ddomaille@mines.edu

Veronica Eliasson

Veronica Eliasson

Rank - Associate Professor

Department - Mechanical Engineering

Office - CoorsTek 216

Phone - 303-384-2509

Email - eliasson@mines.edu

Kip O. Findley

Kip O. Findley

Rank - Associate Professor

Department - Metallurgical and Materials Engineering

Office - 260 Hill Hall

Phone - 303-273-3906

Email - kfindley@mines.edu

Patrice Genevet

Patrice Genevet

Rank - Professor

Department - Physics

Office - CoorsTek 301

Phone - 303-273-3657

Email - patrice.genevet@mines.edu

Tom Gennett

Tom Gennett

Rank - Professor and Department Head

Department - Chemistry

Office - Coolbaugh Hall 204

Phone - 303-273-3622

Email - tgennett@mines.edu

Joy Gockel

Joy Gockel

Rank - Associate Professor

Department - Mechanical Engineering

Office - CoorsTek 215

Phone - 303-273-3091

Email - joygockel@mines.edu

Diego Gomez-Gualdron

Diego Gomez-Gualdron

Rank - Assistant Professor

Department - Chemical and Biological Engineering

Office - Alderson Hall 237

Phone - 303-384-2319

Email - dgomezgualdron@mines.edu

Brian P. Gorman

Brian P. Gorman

Rank - Associate Professor

Department - Metallurgical and Materials Engineering

Office - 386 Hill Hall

Phone - 303-384-2239

Email - bgorman@mines.edu

Xiaolei Guo

Xiaolei Guo

Rank - Assistant Professor

Department - Metallurgical and Materials Engineering

Andrew Herring

Andrew Herring

Rank - Professor

Department - Chemical and Biological Engineering

Office - Alderson Hall 464

Phone - 303-384-2082

Email - aherring@mines.edu

Owen Hildreth

Owen Hildreth

Rank - Associate Professor

Department - Mechanical Engineering

Office - 214 CoorsTek Center

Phone - 303-384-2457

Email - ohildreth@mines.edu

Megan E. Holtz

Megan E. Holtz

Rank - Assistant Professor

Department - Metallurgical and Materials Engineering

Office - Hill Hall 307

Phone - 303-273-3543

Email - mholtz@mines.edu

Greg Jackson

Greg Jackson

Rank - Professor

Department - Mechanical Engineering

Office - W470C Brown Hall

Phone - 303-273-3609

Email - gsjackso@mines.edu

Michael J. Kaufman

Michael J. Kaufman

Rank - Professor

Department - Metallurgical and Materials Engineering

Office - 210 CoorsTek Center

Phone - 303-273-3009

Email - mkaufman@mines.edu

Robert Kee

Robert Kee

Rank - George R. Brown Distinguished Professor

Department - Mechanical Engineering

Office - W370E Brown Hall

Phone - 303-273-3379

Email - rjkee@mines.edu

Jihye Kim

Jihye Kim

Rank - Assistant Professor

Department - Metallurgical and Materials Engineering

Office - Hill Hall 258

Phone - 303-384-2139

Email - jihyekim@mines.edu

Jeffrey C. King

Jeffrey C. King

Rank - Professor

Department - Metallurgical and Materials Engineering

Office - 360 Hill Hall

Phone - 303-384-2133

Email - kingjc@mines.edu

Jonah Klemm-Toole

Jonah Klemm-Toole

Rank - Assistant Professor

Department - Metallurgical and Materials Engineering

Office - 372 Hill Hall

Phone - 303-273-3784

Email - jklemmto@mines.edu

Daniel Knauss

Daniel Knauss

Rank - Professor

Department - Chemistry

Office - Coolbaugh Hall 158

Phone - 303-273-3625

Email - dknauss@mines.edu

Carolyn Koh

Carolyn Koh

Rank - William K. Coors Distinguished Chair and Professor

Department - Chemical and Biological Engineering

Office - Alderson Hall 452

Phone - 303-273-3237

Email - ckoh@mines.edu

Melissa Krebs

Melissa Krebs

Rank - Associate Professor

Department - Chemical and Biological Engineering

Office - Alderson Hall 431

Phone - 303-273-3983

Email - mdkrebs@mines.edu

Ramya Kumar

Ramya Kumar

Rank - Assistant Professor

Department - Chemical and Biological Engineering

Office - 129 Alderson Hall

Phone - 303-273-xxxx

Email - ramyakumar@mines.edu

Stephanie Kwon

Stephanie Kwon

Rank - Assistant Professor

Department - Chemical and Biological Engineering

Office - Alderson Hall 253

Phone - 303-273-3614

Email - kwon@mines.edu

Leslie Lamberson

Leslie Lamberson

Rank - Associate Professor

Department - Mechanical Engineering

Office - CoorsTek 218

Phone - 303-273-3459

Email - les@mines.edu

David W.M. Marr

David W.M. Marr

Rank - Professor

Department - Biology, Chemical and Biological Engineering

Office - Alderson Hall 462

Phone - 303-273-3008

Email - dmarr@mines.edu

Suveen Mathaudhu

Suveen Mathaudhu

Rank - Professor

Department - Metallurgical and Materials Engineering

Email - smathaudhu@mines.edu

Annalise Maughan

Annalise Maughan

Rank - Assistant Professor

Department - Chemistry

Office - 114A Coolbaugh Hall

Email - amaughan@mines.edu

C. Michael McGuirk

C. Michael McGuirk

Rank - Assistant Professor

Department - Chemistry

Office - Coolbaugh Hall 160

Phone - 303.273.3633

Email - cmmcguirk@mines.edu

Aashutosh Mistry

Aashutosh Mistry

Rank - Assistant Professor

Department - Mechanical Engineering

Office - CK 270

Phone - 303-273-3863

Email - aashutosh.mistry@mines.edu

Eve Mozur

Eve Mozur

Rank - Assistant Professor

Department - Metallurgical and Materials Engineering

Office - Hill Hall 356

Phone - (303)384-2337

Email - evemozur@mines.edu

Alexis Navarre-Sitchler

Alexis Navarre-Sitchler

Rank - Associate Professor

Department - Geology and Geological Engineering

Office - 311C Berthoud Hall

Phone - 303-384-2219

Email - asitchle@mines.edu

Douglas Nychka

Douglas Nychka

Rank - Professor

Department - Applied Mathematics and Statistics

Office - Stratton Hall 229

Phone - 303-384-2328

Email - nychka@mines.edu

Ryan O’Hayre

Ryan O’Hayre

Rank - Professor

Department - Metallurgical and Materials Engineering

Office - 354 Hill Hall

Phone - 303-273-3952

Email - rohayre@mines.edu

Tim Ohno

Tim Ohno

Rank - Associate Professor

Department - Physics

Office - 304 CoorsTek Center

Phone - 303-273-3847

Email - tohno@mines.edu

Svitlana Pylypenko

Svitlana Pylypenko

Rank - Associate Professor

Department - Chemistry

Office - Coolbaugh Hall 164

Phone - 303-384-2140

Email - spylypen@mines.edu

Ivar E. Reimanis

Ivar E. Reimanis

Rank - Herman F. Coors Distinguished Professor of Ceramic Engineering

Department - Metallurgical and Materials Engineering

Office - 305B Hill Hall

Phone - 303-273-3549

Email - ireimani@mines.edu

Ryan Richards

Ryan Richards

Rank - Professor

Department - Chemistry

Office - Coolbaugh Hall 304

Phone - 303-273-3612

Email - rrichard@mines.edu

Angus Rockett

Angus Rockett

Rank - Professor and Department Head

Department - Metallurgical and Materials Engineering

Office - 201A Hill Hall

Phone - 303-384-2244

Email - arockett@mines.edu

Joseph Samaniuk

Joseph Samaniuk

Rank - Assistant Professor

Department - Chemical and Biological Engineering

Office - Alderson Hall 425

Phone - 303-273-3790

Email - samaniuk@mines.edu

Sridhar Seetharaman

Sridhar Seetharaman

Rank - Professor

Department - Metallurgical and Materials Engineering

Office - 214 CoorsTek Center

Phone - 303-273-3053

Email - sseetharaman@mines.edu

Alan Sellinger

Alan Sellinger

Rank - Professor

Department - Chemistry

Office - Coolbaugh Hall 156

Phone - 303-384-2586

Email - aselli@mines.edu

Jenifer C. Shafer

Jenifer C. Shafer

Rank - Associate Professor

Department - Chemistry, Nuclear Science and Engineering

Office - Coolbaugh Hall 312A

Phone - 303-273-3996

Email - jshafer@mines.edu

Meenakshi Singh

Meenakshi Singh

Rank - Assistant Professor

Department - Physics

Office - 314 CoorsTek Center

Phone - 303-273-3844

Email - msingh@mines.edu

John G. Speer

John G. Speer

Rank - John Henry Moore Professor

Department - Metallurgical and Materials Engineering

Office - 274 Hill Hall

Phone - 303-273-3897

Email - jspeer@mines.edu

Anna Staerz

Anna Staerz

Rank - Assistant Professor

Department - Metallurgical and Materials Engineering

Office - 358 Hill Hall

Phone - 303-273-3098

Email - astaerz@mines.edu

Vladan Stevanovic

Vladan Stevanovic

Rank - Associate Professor

Department - Metallurgical and Materials Engineering

Office - 301 Hill Hall

Phone - 303-384-2382

Email - vstevano@mines.edu

Timothy Strathmann

Timothy Strathmann

Rank - Professor

Department - Civil and Environmental Engineering

Phone - 303-384-2226

Email - strthmnn@mines.edu

Neal Sullivan

Neal Sullivan

Rank - Associate Professor

Department - Mechanical Engineering

Office - W410H Brown Hall

Phone - 303-273-3656

Email - nsulliva@mines.edu

Brian Thomas

Brian Thomas

Rank - Professor

Department - Mechanical Engineering

Office - W470A Brown Hall

Phone - 303-273-3309

Email - bgthomas@mines.edu

Eric Toberer

Eric Toberer

Rank - Professor and Director of Materials Science

Department - Physics

Office - 305 CoorsTek Center

Phone - 303-273-3171

Email - etoberer@mines.edu

Brian Trewyn

Brian Trewyn

Rank - Associate Professor and Assistant Director of Materials Science

Department - Chemistry

Office - Coolbaugh Hall 152

Phone - 303-384-2224

Email - btrewyn@mines.edu

Lori Tunstall

Lori Tunstall

Rank - Assistant Professor

Department - Civil and Environmental Engineering

Office - Coolbaugh Hall

Email - ltunstall@mines.edu

Bettina M. Voelker

Bettina M. Voelker

Rank - Professor

Department - Chemistry

Office - Coolbaugh Hall 244

Phone - 303-273-3152

Email - bvoelker@mines.edu

Kim R. Williams

Kim R. Williams

Rank - Professor

Department - Chemistry

Office - Coolbaugh Hall 304

Phone - 303-273-3245

Email - krwillia@mines.edu

Colin Wolden

Colin Wolden

Rank - Professor

Department - Chemical and Biological Engineering

Office - Alderson Hall 424

Phone - 303-273-3544

Email - cwolden@mines.edu

David T. Wu

David T. Wu

Rank - Professor

Office - Coolbaugh Hall 204

Phone - 303-384-2066

Email - dwu@mines.edu

Zhenzhen Yu

Zhenzhen Yu

Rank - Assistant Professor

Department - Metallurgical and Materials Engineering

Office - 370 Hill Hall

Phone - 303-273-3798

Email - zyu@mines.edu

Andriy Zakutayev

Andriy Zakutayev

Rank - Research Assistant Professor

Department - Metallurgical and Materials Engineering

Email - andriyzakutayev@mines.edu

Xiaoli Zhang

Xiaoli Zhang

Rank - Associate Professor

Department - Mechanical Engineering

Office - Brown Hall 280D

Phone - 303-384-2343

Email - xlzhang@mines.edu

Jeramy Zimmerman

Jeramy Zimmerman

Rank - Associate Professor

Department - Physics

Office - 309 CoorsTek Center

Phone - 303-273-3708

Email - jdzimmer@mines.edu

Research-Affiliated Faculty

Prashun Gorai

Prashun Gorai

Metallurgical and Materials Engineering

Ankit Gupta

Ankit Gupta

Christine Morrison

Christine Morrison

Chemistry

Pejman Tahmasebi

Pejman Tahmasebi

Petroleum Engineering

Program Managers

Cadi Gillette Headshot

Cadi Gillette

Interdisciplinary Graduate Programs Manager
CoorsTek 224
(303)-384-2507
cadi.gillette@mines.edu

Stacey Lucero Headshot

Stacey Lucero

Department Manager, Metallurgy
Admissions Support
Hill Hall 201B 
(303) 273-3780
srlucero@mines.edu