Faculty and Staff

The interdisciplinary Materials Science Program promotes collaboration with faculty from across campus allowing the diverse backgrounds and expertise of our professors to enrich our students’ educational experience.  Explore the profiles below to learn more about our faculty’s research.

PROGRAM LEADERSHIP

Eric Toberer

Eric Toberer

Rank - Director of Materials Science

Title - Associate Professor

Department - Physics

Office - 305 CoorsTek Center

Phone - 303-273-3171

Email - etoberer@mines.edu

Brian Trewyn

Brian Trewyn

Rank - Associate Program Director, Associate Professor

Department - Chemistry

Office - Coolbaugh Hall 152

Phone - 303-384-2224

Email - btrewyn@mines.edu

Research-Advising Faculty

Geoff Brennecka

Geoff Brennecka

Rank - Associate Professor

Department - Metallurgical and Materials Engineering

Office - 380 Hill Hall

Phone - 303-384-2238

Email - gbrennec@mines.edu

Moises Carreon

Moises Carreon

Rank - Professor

Department - Chemical and Biological Engineering

Office - Alderson Hall 255

Phone - 303-273-3329

Email - mcarreon@mines.edu

Robert Cryderman

Robert Cryderman

Rank - Research Associate Professor

Department - Metallurgical and Materials Engineering

Office - 276 Hill Hall

Phone - 303-283-3178

Email - rcryderm@mines.edu

Steven DeCaluwe

Steven DeCaluwe

Rank - Associate Professor

Department - Mechanical Engineering

Office - W410B Brown Hall

Phone - 303-273-3666

Email - decaluwe@mines.edu

Dylan Domaille

Dylan Domaille

Rank - Assistant Professor

Department - Chemistry

Office - Coolbaugh Hall 162

Phone - 303-273-3116

Email - ddomaille@mines.edu

Serena Eley

Serena Eley

Rank - Assistant Professor

Department - Physics

Office - 315 CoorsTek Center

Phone - 303-384-2360

Email - serenaeley@mines.edu

Veronica Eliasson

Veronica Eliasson

Rank - Associate Professor

Department - Mechanical Engineering

Office - CoorsTek 216

Phone - 303-384-2509

Email - eliasson@mines.edu

Kip O. Findley

Kip O. Findley

Rank - Associate Professor

Department - Metallurgical and Materials Engineering

Office - 260 Hill Hall

Phone - 303-273-3906

Email - kfindley@mines.edu

Tom Gennett

Tom Gennett

Rank - Professor and Department Head

Department - Chemistry

Office - Coolbaugh Hall 204

Phone - 303-273-3622

Email - tgennett@mines.edu

Diego Gomez-Gualdron

Diego Gomez-Gualdron

Rank - Assistant Professor

Department - Chemical and Biological Engineering

Office - Alderson Hall 237

Phone - 303-384-2319

Email - dgomezgualdron@mines.edu

Andrew Herring

Andrew Herring

Rank - Professor

Department - Chemical and Biological Engineering

Office - Alderson Hall 464

Phone - 303-384-2082

Email - aherring@mines.edu

Owen Hildreth

Owen Hildreth

Rank - Assistant Professor

Department - Mechanical Engineering

Office - 214 CoorsTek Center

Phone - 303-384-2457

Email - ohildreth@mines.edu

Greg Jackson

Greg Jackson

Rank - Professor

Department - Mechanical Engineering

Office - W470C Brown Hall

Phone - 303-273-3609

Email - gsjackso@mines.edu

Michael J. Kaufman

Michael J. Kaufman

Rank - Professor

Department - Materials and Energy Initiatives

Office - 210 CoorsTek Center

Phone - 303-273-3009

Email - mkaufman@mines.edu

Robert Kee

Robert Kee

Rank - George R. Brown Distinguished Professor

Department - Mechanical Engineering

Office - W370E Brown Hall

Phone - 303-273-3379

Email - rjkee@mines.edu

Jonah Klemm-Toole

Jonah Klemm-Toole

Rank - Assistant Professor

Department - Metallurgical and Materials Engineering

Office - 372 Hill Hall

Phone - 303-273-3784

Email - jklemmto@mines.edu

Daniel Knauss

Daniel Knauss

Rank - Professor

Department - Chemistry

Office - Coolbaugh Hall 158

Phone - 303-273-3625

Email - dknauss@mines.edu

Carolyn Koh

Carolyn Koh

Rank - William K. Coors Distinguished Chair and Professor

Department - Chemical and Biological Engineering

Office - Alderson Hall 452

Phone - 303-273-3237

Email - ckoh@mines.edu

Melissa Krebs

Melissa Krebs

Rank - Associate Professor

Department - Chemical and Biological Engineering

Office - Alderson Hall 431

Phone - 303-273-3983

Email - mdkrebs@mines.edu

Stephanie Kwon

Stephanie Kwon

Rank - Assistant Professor

Department - Chemical and Biological Engineering

Office - Alderson Hall 253

Phone - 303-273-3614

Email - kwon@mines.edu

Leslie Lamberson

Leslie Lamberson

Rank - Associate Professor

Department - Mechanical Engineering

Office - CoorsTek 218

Phone - 303-273-3459

Email - les@mines.edu

David W.M. Marr

David W.M. Marr

Rank - Professor

Department - Chemical and Biological Engineering, Biology

Office - Alderson Hall 462

Phone - 303-273-3008

Email - dmarr@mines.edu

C. Michael McGuirk

C. Michael McGuirk

Rank - Assistant Professor

Department - Chemistry

Office - Coolbaugh Hall 160

Phone - 303.273.3633

Email - cmmcguirk@mines.edu

Christine Morrison

Christine Morrison

Rank - Assistant Professor

Department - Chemistry

Office - Coolbaugh Hall 314

Phone - (303) 384-2101

Email - morrison@mines.edu

Alexis Navarre-Sitchler

Alexis Navarre-Sitchler

Rank - Associate Professor

Department - Geology and Geological Engineering

Office - 311C Berthoud Hall

Phone - 303-384-2219

Email - asitchle@mines.edu

Ryan O’Hayre

Ryan O’Hayre

Rank - Professor

Department - Metallurgical and Materials Engineering

Office - 354 Hill Hall

Phone - 303-273-3952

Email - rohayre@mines.edu

Tim Ohno

Tim Ohno

Rank - Associate Professor

Department - Physics

Office - 304 CoorsTek Center

Phone - 303-273-3847

Email - tohno@mines.edu

Ivar E. Reimanis

Ivar E. Reimanis

Rank - Herman F. Coors Distinguished Professor of Ceramic Engineering

Department - Metallurgical and Materials Engineering

Office - 305B Hill Hall

Phone - 303-273-3549

Email - ireimani@mines.edu

Ryan Richards

Ryan Richards

Rank - Professor

Department - Chemistry

Office - Coolbaugh Hall 304

Phone - 303-273-3612

Email - rrichard@mines.edu

Angus Rockett

Angus Rockett

Rank - Professor and Department Head

Department - Metallurgical and Materials Engineering

Office - 201A Hill Hall

Phone - 303-384-2244

Email - arockett@mines.edu

Joseph Samaniuk

Joseph Samaniuk

Rank - Assistant Professor

Department - Chemical and Biological Engineering

Office - Alderson Hall 425

Phone - 303-273-3790

Email - samaniuk@mines.edu

Sridhar Seetharaman

Sridhar Seetharaman

Rank - Professor

Department - Metallurgical and Materials Engineering

Office - 214 CoorsTek Center

Phone - 303-273-3053

Email - sseetharaman@mines.edu

Alan Sellinger

Alan Sellinger

Rank - Professor

Department - Chemistry

Office - Coolbaugh Hall 156

Phone - 303-384-2586

Email - aselli@mines.edu

Jenifer C. Shafer

Jenifer C. Shafer

Rank - Associate Professor

Department - Chemistry, Nuclear Science and Engineering

Office - Coolbaugh Hall 312A

Phone - 303-273-3996

Email - jshafer@mines.edu

Meenakshi Singh

Meenakshi Singh

Rank - Assistant Professor

Department - Physics

Office - 314 CoorsTek Center

Phone - 303-273-3844

Email - msingh@mines.edu

John G. Speer

John G. Speer

Rank - John Henry Moore Professor

Department - Metallurgical and Materials Engineering

Office - 274 Hill Hall

Phone - 303-273-3897

Email - jspeer@mines.edu

Timothy Strathmann

Timothy Strathmann

Rank - Professor

Department - Civil and Environmental Engineering

Phone - 303-384-2226

Email - strthmnn@mines.edu

Eric Toberer

Eric Toberer

Rank - Director of Materials Science

Department - Physics

Office - 305 CoorsTek Center

Phone - 303-273-3171

Email - etoberer@mines.edu

Brian Trewyn

Brian Trewyn

Rank - Associate Program Director, Associate Professor

Department - Chemistry

Office - Coolbaugh Hall 152

Phone - 303-384-2224

Email - btrewyn@mines.edu

Lori Tunstall

Lori Tunstall

Rank - Assistant Professor

Department - Civil and Environmental Engineering

Office - Coolbaugh Hall

Email - ltunstall@mines.edu

Bettina M. Voelker

Bettina M. Voelker

Rank - Professor

Department - Chemistry

Office - Coolbaugh Hall 244

Phone - 303-273-3152

Email - bvoelker@mines.edu

Kim R. Williams

Kim R. Williams

Rank - Professor

Office - Coolbaugh Hall 304

Phone - 303-273-3245

Email - krwillia@mines.edu

Colin Wolden

Colin Wolden

Rank - Professor

Department - Chemical and Biological Engineering

Office - Alderson Hall 424

Phone - 303-273-3544

Email - cwolden@mines.edu

David T. Wu

David T. Wu

Rank - Professor

Department - Chemistry

Office - Coolbaugh Hall 204

Phone - 303-384-2066

Email - dwu@mines.edu

Xiaoli Zhang

Xiaoli Zhang

Rank - Associate Professor

Department - Mechanical Engineering

Office - Brown Hall 280D

Phone - 303-384-2343

Email - xlzhang@mines.edu

Jeramy Zimmerman

Jeramy Zimmerman

Rank - Assistant Professor

Department - Physics

Office - 309 CoorsTek Center

Phone - 303-273-3708

Email - jdzimmer@mines.edu

Research-Affiliated Faculty

Ivan Cornejo

Ivan Cornejo

Metallurgical and Materials Engineering

Prashun Gorai

Prashun Gorai

Metallurgical and Materials Engineering

David L. Olson

Program Managers

Carolyn Freedman

Interdisciplinary Graduate Programs Manager
Alderson Hall 451
303-384-2525
cfreedman@mines.edu

Nanci Goldberg

Interdisciplinary Graduate Programs Coordinator
Alderson Hall 451
303-384-2549
ngoldberg@mines.edu

Nancy Progar

Department Manager, Metallurgy
Admissions Support
201B Hill Hall
(303) 273-3660
progar@mines.edu